Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter

Foundation for Pale Skin | Rimmel Lasting Finish Breathable Foundation & Concealer Review

Posted on 4 min read

I

t’s been a while since I updated my list of foundations for pale skin, so when Rimmel London asked me if I’d like to try out their new Lasting Finish Breathable Foundation and Concealer – plus a few extras – I was more than happy to give it a go.

Now, as some of you might recall, I’m a bit of a Rimmel London foundation fangirl: their Match Perfection foundation has been my daily go-to for a couple of years now, and I’ve also used the original Lasting Finish, which I seem to recall declaring the best full-coverage budget foundation, like, EVER. So this had a lot to live up to, basically. Was it up to the challenge, though?

Rimmel Lasting Finish Breathable Foundation and Concealer review

Well, the first thing to note here, is that this is not the Lasting Finish Foundation you’re used to. No, this is Lasting Finish Breathable Foundation, and the word “breathable” in that sentence will probably have clued you in to the fact that it’s a much more lightweight option than its full-coverage cousin. That’s not to say the coverage is super-light, though: I’d probably describe it as medium coverage, although it is buildable, so if you want/need something a little heavier, it shouldn’t be a problem. Which means the biggest surprise for me was the sponge-topped applicator:

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Breathable Foundtation Sponge applicator

I wasn’t sure quite what to make of this, at first. I normally apply my foundation with a makeup sponge, and I do it by first of all pumping some foundation onto the back of my hand, and then using the sponge to soak up as much – or little – as I need. With this applicator, though, I’ve been using the built-in sponge to dot the product over my face, before using my regular makeup sponge to blend it in. Aaaaand I’ve used the word “sponge” so many times now that it’s done that thing where it now looks really weird to me, and I’m all, “Is that even a word? Have I spelt it right? WHO KNOWS.”

Anyway, this new method undoubtedly works, but I find it a little harder to dispense exactly the right amount of product, so I suspect I’ll soon just forget about the applicator altogether, and revert back to just tipping the bottle onto my hand again. Can’t change the habit of a lifetime, right?

As for the colour, meanwhile, I was sent this in 001 Light Porcelain: it’s the palest shade it comes in, and the same colour I buy my Match Perfection in, so I had no doubts about it working for my skin:

Rimmel Lasting Finish Breathable Foundation in Light Porcelain swatch

I wasn’t disappointed, either: once again, Rimmel have gotten it spot on, and the fact that they do this colour is the main reason I keep coming back to them for my foundation. It’s pale enough to work perfectly for me, and, as with the other Rimmel Foundations I’ve used, I found it really easy to blend in, too. As far as the ’25 Hour’ claim goes, this girl needs her sleep, so there was no way I was going to stay up for 25 hours, just to test an oddly-specific foundation claim, but suffice to say that it lasts all day, without needing any touch-ups: because, seriously, who has time for THAT?

Along with the foundation, I’ve also been trying out the matching concealer, also in shade 001:

Rimmel Lasting Finish Breathable conceaker in 001

Again, this comes with a sponge applicator, and this time I wasn’t particularly impressed, as I found it a little tricky to get it to dispense the product – could just be the tube I was sent, obviously, but I prefer the type of applicator you actually dip into the product, as opposed to one you have to squeeze out through the sponge, if that makes sense? Please tell me that made sense?

Colour-wise, though, this is also pretty great for pale skin: I did have to layer it up a little in order to cover the dark shadows currently decorating my eyes, but I’ve yet to meet the concealer that can cover those bad boys with just one swipe, so, all things considered, it’s a thumbs up for the colour and formula, but not so much for the design of the applicator.

Finally, I was also sent the Rimmel Kate Sculpting Palette  in shade 002 – Coral Glow:

Rimmel Kate Sculpting Palette in 002 - Coral Glow
Now, coral isn’t a shade I’m overly fond of, so I was a little dubious about this one, and particularly about the blush, which is definitely more coral than pink. Having tried it out, though, I do think it works pretty well with my colouring, although I’d say it’s more of an autumn/winter shade than a spring/summer one – my usual blush is more of a pink shade, which I find a bit fresher/more natural on me. As for the contour and highlight, both are pretty subtle, which makes them a good choice for day-to-day wear, although if you like the highly-sculpted look, complete with shimmery highlights, you might be better off with a cream formula. I, meanwhile, was pretty surprised to find that the contour was light enough for me, but both shades (highlight and contour) worked well, so I think this is a pretty good option for pale-skinned people.

Finally, I know this kind of review isn’t much use unless you can actually see the products in action, but, well, I couldn’t figure out how to use the remote with the new camera in time to get a semi-decent photo, so here’s a couple of awkward iPhone selfies, instead: you’re welcome.

awkward selfies are awkward

WANT AMBER IN YOUR INBOX?

(Er, that came out a bit weird: what I mean to say is, enter your email below to be notified each time I publish a new post...)

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 Comments
  • Poppy
    October 1, 2017

    Re dark circle – it’s been a battle of mine too. Recently I discovered concealer from the collection range at Superdrug – its £3 or something silly but utterly amazing. Way better than many expensive ones I’ve tried.

    • Amber
      October 1, 2017

      That’s actually the concealer I normally use – it’s just not a match for the dark circles right now!

  • Rebecca M
    October 1, 2017

    I think the blush color looks really pretty on you. Very natural flush. I’ll have to try it out, though I believe my pale skin has a bit more yellow undertones than yours.

  • Alicja
    October 3, 2017

    I’m really excited to try this on!
    (I was even thinking about asking you Amber – is rimmel used a lot in UK? Is it considered “cheap”/ “basic”/ “for teenagers only”?

    It’s really suspicious, that it’s not being sold anywhere in Germany: I’m trying to understand why. :/

    • Amber
      October 3, 2017

      It’s a drugstore brand, and not expensive, but I wouldn’t say it’s considered to only be for teenagers – I don’t really have my finger on the pulse of the beauty world, though, so my perception of brands might be totally different from everyone else’s!

      • Alicja
        October 4, 2017

        Thanks anyway :)))

        • Nita
          November 3, 2017

          Hey Alicja, I think I’ve seen Rimmel in the usual stores in Germany – Mueller, DM, Rossmann, probably in Douglas too. I used to live in Cottbus, so it wouldn’t be restricted to bigger cities! If not, maybe you can order online?

  • Izzy
    October 26, 2017

    Interesting point about sponge applicators – I am a fan of beauty blenders so I would say sponge one would be good for me but I never tried , and I think you may have a point here squeezing it out may be tricky !

  • Veronika
    January 5, 2018

    What hair colour are you using? It is so pretty!

AD | Time for a quick game of “Where’s Amber?”⁣
⁣
It’s another rainy Monday, so I’m throwing it back to our trip to @universalorlando ‘s amazing Volcano Bay water park last month. I’m a bit of a scaredy when it comes to water flumes, but this park had tons of stuff for pretty much everyone: plenty of rides for me, and an amazing splash pad for Max 👶In fact, I’d still be on The Fearless River right now if I possibly could be. Still, doing the laundry and turning the heating on will be just as good, right? Right?! 🌋 🏊‍♀️ .
.
.
#universalorlando #volcanobay #waterpark #lazyriver #vacay #floridavacay

AD | Time for a...

Good news! We took Max to hospital this morning, and saw two different surgeons, who agreed there was no need to go ahead with the surgery as his lip is healing really well on its own 😅  He’ll definitely have a scar, unfortunately, but that would’ve been the case whether he’d had the surgery or not, and if it turns out to be worse than anticipated, we’ll have the option to have it corrected under local anaesthetic when he’s older. ⁣
⁣
I’m still really upset that this happened in the first place, obviously, but so relieved that we don’t have to put him through a general anaesthetic, and just incredibly grateful that it wasn’t anything worse. I know some parents have to deal with much more serious stuff than this, and my heart goes out to you all: it’s been a rough couple of days, and I’m really grateful to everyone who took the time to comment on yesterday’s post - your stories were so comforting when I was panicking yesterday ❤️ ⁣
⁣
(Old photo, obviously: every time Max sees the selfie camera, he thinks it’s going to be one of those filters where you open your mouth and something happens 😂)⁣
⁣
#pbloggers #mummybloggers #mummybloggersuk #ukmumblog #mumblogsuk #mumblogs #mamablog #ukparentbloggers #parentbloggersuk #ukparentingblog #parentingbloggers #motherhoodblogger #motherhoodblog #ukblogger #ukofficialblogger #happyblogger #mummyblog #bloggerclubuk #instamum

Good news! We took Max...

Totally unrelated photo, but we’ve just spent the morning in Accident & Emergency with Max, who fell on the path outside the house and split his lip open 😥 ⁣
⁣
They tried to stitch it up at A&E, but it was totally impossible with him awake, so they’ve booked him in to have it done under general anaesthetic tomorrow ... Max is absolutely fine: the bleeding stopped quickly, he doesn’t seem to be in pain, and is just his normal, happy little self. I, on the other hand, am a complete wreck: the plastic surgeon he saw today reckons if we don’t have it fixed, his lip will be crooked when it heals, but I’m absolutely *terrified* of the thought of my baby having to have a GA. ⁣
⁣
If you’re a long-time follower, you might know that I have a full-blown phobia of general anaesthetic (I literally had an elective c-section in order to eliminate the possibility of an emergency one, which might have had to be done under GA), so I just can’t get my head to accept that it’s safe and he’ll be fine 😥 ⁣
⁣
Positive stories and advice very welcome: I’m just so terrified, I can’t even imagine how to get through the next 24 hours 😥😥😥

Totally unrelated photo, but we’ve...

#throwbackthursday to last week, when I needed a sunhat and SPF 50 to leave the house, rather than the current raincoat and wellies situation. Can you tell the post-holiday blues are still in full swing over here? 🌧 .
.
.
#whatiwear #30plusblogs #everydaystyle #realoutfitgram  #scottishbloggers #fashionblogger  #fashionblog #fashionstyle #whatimwearing #stylegram  #outfitoftheday #personalstyle #todayiamwearing #styleinspiration 
#stylediaries #styleblogger #over30style

#throwbackthursday to last week, when...

I posted this on Stories over the weekend, but he looked so cute in it I figured it deserved a spot on the grid, too! This is Max all ready for his friend Eleah’s 1st birthday party on Saturday: despite the jetlag and his continuing obsession with doors of all kinds (He had an entire soft play at his disposal, but he mostly just wanted to open and close the gate into it...) he had an absolute ball, and spent the whole drive home shouting, “HAPPY! HAPPY!” Thanks to @thestirlingstyle for a great party 🥳 🎈 🎉 . (Oh, and that’s his hairbrush in his hand - boy likes to look his best 😉)
.
.
#littlepiecesofchildhood #cameramama #chikdhoodeveryday #childofig #celebrate_childhood #babieswithstyle #ootdkids #fashionbaby #trendykids

I posted this on Stories...

We’re back home in not-so-sunny Scotland, but my feed is still stuck in Florida... New post is up on the blog (direct link in Stories..), talking about how we’ve been dealing with toddler jetlag, and why I always hate coming home after a trip...
.
.
.
#myunicornlife #lifecolorfully #liveauthentic  #ABMlifeissweet #ABMhappylife #ABMlifeiscolorful #howyouglow #makeyousmilestyle #thegoodlist #thecolorwallproject #colorsplash #colorworld #colorsplurge #lovecolors #jj_colorlove #gf_colour #huntgramcolor #jj_colorful #tv_colors #pocketcolors #sunnypicchallenge #colorhunters #colorgram #colorfulllife #colorinspiration #brightcolors #colormyworld #colorinspiration #womeninframe #ihavethisthingforwalls

We’re back home in not-so-sunny...

Previous
What’s In My Makeup Bag | September
Foundation for Pale Skin | Rimmel Lasting Finish Breathable Foundation & Concealer Review